The Future

The Future is big and scary but I’ve been thinking about it a lot this week. Despite the excitement of being employed via Camp America, I’ve still got a good four months or so before I leave. Sure I’ve got some stuff going on, but what about after?

I’m having to ask myself whether I should try to enrol on a different teacher training course or whether I should look into something completely different. I know I want to work with young people, but being turned down so many times has made myself doubt whether I’m right for the job. It’s been a huge confidence knock, and it’s made it a lot harder for me to make a decision for the next school year. I’m torn between getting a job in social work, which would eventually force me to return to university for a different degree, or whether to carry on trying to get involved in the world of education. It’s a difficult decision to make and knowing that I’ll be in America until the end of August has made me hesitate even more. I don’t know what opportunities will arise via working there and I don’t even know if it will open more doors for me.

It’s a depressing kind of post this week, and I wish I could put something more positive into it. Even the positives feel as though they’ve been dampened by uncertainty. If I could make up my mind and find myself settled comfortably in whatever field, it’d make this whole thing a lot easier.

I got offered an interview for a job which would suit me down to the ground at the moment, but I can’t get excited over it simply because I’ll be out of the country for three months. Some people have told me not to mention it but I’d rather just tell them the truth. I don’t think I’ll gain anything by not telling them about it but I’m not expecting to be given the job because of it.

Job offer or no job offer, I have a lot of things to think about concerning my future and, since it is looming fairly close, I’m going to have to bite the bullet and make a decision soon.

Tagged , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “The Future

  1. xuyeens says:

    Do the best at currently and what comes will come. You will get over it 🙂

Any thoughts?

