Failing Nanowrimo

I suppose the title kind of spoils the subject of this post. I, as the title states, didn’t complete the nanowrimo challenge. I’m pretty annoyed about it since I had some ideas which I was really interested in. I think my issue was not really having the time. I suppose going away for five days and having to spend time preparing for going away didn’t really help.

It got me back into writing though. Over the past three or more years, I’ve written countless essays over and over and I’ve toyed with ideas for fiction tales but I haven’t sat down with a pen and paper with the specific plan to write anything. I’d actually forgotten how much I’d enjoyed sitting in Creative Writing at college, playing word games and thinking of new characters and coming up with new plot scenarios. It’s encouraged me to start writing again.

I don’t really know the rules about continuing writing your novel after November. I’m not likely to attempt the challenge again, so I’m going to try to finish my story. It’s one that wants to get onto paper. It’s not ground breaking, it’s not socially challenging, it’s not going to be award winning. It is mine though. I’m sure any fellow writers will feel the same way about their own fiction writing.

Tagged , , ,

2 thoughts on “Failing Nanowrimo

  1. It’s not failing as long as you got something down. If you can manage to write 50,000 words in a month, there is still no guarantee it will be any good. I didn’t finish my novel this year, or last year, or the year before, but I will still slug away at what I have until next November where I’ll use the month to come up with something completely new. Don’t feel disheartened.

Any thoughts?

