Daily Prompt – Matters of Confusion

Once again, I’ve been tempted into writing about the Daily Prompt post which invited us to write about feeling out of place or confused.

I know we’ve all been confused before: in our work, in our relationships, in our education… I’d have to argue with anyone who said that they’d never been confused before.

These last few weeks have been difficult for me for one reason or another and the confusion comes in over my job.

It’s no secret there that it’s not what I actually want to do. Every person who works there, except for the couple of people who started during the last week or so, knows that whilst I’m not there, I’m volunteering. People are fully aware that I have one half day off all week which, for the last five months, has been Fridays. My sense of misplacement comes in as my managers start having me work on Friday nights. I’m not enjoying my work like I used to, mostly because I’m exhausted. I’m not as motivated, I don’t care as much and I feel as though I’m being taken advantage of.

It’s difficult for me to want to work as a barmaid when I’m enjoying unpaid work so much more. On the one hand, I need to work there for the steady pay check, on the other, I’m hating every second of it. It won’t be an easy decision, but I’m seriously considering giving up on bar work and focusing on the unpaid.

I don’t really like talking about the negative so I’m going to cut it off there!

Here’s to making difficult decisions that you don’t want to make.

Tagged , , , , ,

Any thoughts?

