Bad Time Keeping

Usually, I’m pretty good at being punctual. This last fortnight, however, I have simply been abysmal at it.

I don’t know what it is, but I have been late to nearly every single appointment I have had this week, and those are the ones which I go to every week. I think the worst one was arriving fifteen minutes late for work; there’s never an excuse for that and I wish the duty manager had told me off rather than just accepting my apology.

I’ve always prided myself for arriving at least five minutes early so I’m pretty gutted that I’ve somehow ended up being so late for so many things. I can only assume that I haven’t been getting enough sleep and it’s my over sleeping, though that’s usually never stopped me getting anywhere by the skin of my teeth.

The issue with running late means that you can’t prepare yourself. Being on time means that you leap straight into whatever it is you’re needed to do whereas arriving early gives you the chance to take a look at what’s going on. In work terms, it allows me the chance to make myself a drink (which I’ll probably forget about), change the empty soft drink syrups and make sure my badges sit straight. When you’re late, all you can do is apologise your butt off and hope you can catch up with your fellow workers or volunteers.

So, in keeping with my bad time management of this week, this is a wee bit later than usual. Hopefully, I’ll be able to break the (nearly) habit of being late and will be back to my punctual self next week.

Tagged , , ,

2 thoughts on “Bad Time Keeping

  1. xuyeens says:

    You will be back as usual. I like the idea of arriving early. Actually I usually get late. After reading your post, I will change myself. 🙂

Any thoughts?

