Daily Prompt – Thank You Very Much

Here’s yet another break in schedule for a Daily Prompt post which seemed interesting to me. Gratitude isn’t something I thought I’d be throwing around this year (or the past two years for that matter). The phrase “thank you” can be pretty powerful and sometimes it’s difficult to say.

It’s frustrating when someone doesn’t say it when it’s due and it’s sometimes just plain rude when it isn’t vocalised. I work in an industry where we are known as “servers”, literally servants, so a lot of people don’t see the point in saying “please” or “thank you”. It’s cliched but manners really don’t cost anything and I can garentee that if you just asked politely, you’d be given a much better service. I once served a man who had “thank you” tattoo’d across the base of his thumb. It made my shift a lot brighter, if nothing else!

Moving on from my work related rant.

I have a lot to be grateful for this year, mostly for the various opportunities I’ve been offered. Earlier, I was reading a blog I follow, which voiced frustration against the unfairness of life post graduation. I completely agreed with her. Post-graduates are often stuck in a catch 22 situation, like many other young people, where they need experience to gain experience. There was no way I’d get a job with the little experience I had; I have to be grateful that charities were able to accept me on just two character references and a brief, informal interview. I have to be grateful for every opportunity I get offered because there are so few out there, regardless of the economic state.

I also ought to be giving my thanks to my parents who are, once again, supporting me through another year of not quite making it. Instead of pushing me out of home and forcing me into working fulltime in a low skilled, minimum wage job, they’re allowing me to pay a reasonable rent and do the volunteer work which I wanted and needed to do.

I have been incredibly lucky with the support I’ve been offered from friends, co-workers and charity organisations, so thank you, to each and every single one.

Tagged , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Daily Prompt – Thank You Very Much

  1. Amy says:

    Thanks for mentioning my blog. You’re right, it’s exactly that problem of finding experience without having experience, it’s so unfair!
    And I totally agree with you about how annoying it is when people don’t say thank you, drives me crazy.

  2. I’m always interested to find a blogger using one of the two themes I use. This one makes me think my blog looks very cluttered! Best wishes for your real life and blogging adventures! Sue

Any thoughts?

