Join me on my fake adventure

So the last year of university didn’t quite go as I’d hoped. I didn’t get the grade I hoped I’d get, I didn’t get into the post-grad course I hoped to enrol on, I didn’t move out of home like I wanted and I didn’t quit my job like I wanted to. Instead I’m taking a gap year.

 

The thought of taking a gap year was soul crushing. I’d have to wait six months just to apply for my post-grad course again and I’d then have to wait until September 2014 to actually start it. I didn’t want to wait. I wanted to get stuck in, be free from my parental home, leave the minimum wage job I’ve been dragging myself through.

 

Things don’t always go to plan and, sometimes, it’s for the best. I’m actually a few months into my gap year and I’m finally starting to see it as it really is. A year of opportunities. A chance to experience things I’d otherwise miss out on. An entire year, 365 days, to find out what I actually want to do with the rest of my life.

 

It won’t be exciting. There won’t be any massive adventures abroad, nor will there be any heorics. Nothing too unexpected. I will be using this year to bulk up my C.V. and, hopefully, have some fun while I’m at it. While my friends are all working on their careers or finishing off their last few uni years, I’ll be serving pints and volunteering my way to a goal I haven’t quite found yet.

 

I’m just a 21 year old girl, who still thinks it’s funny to make her hair into a beard, trying to find herself and I’d love it if you’d join me on my journey.

Tagged , , , , ,

Any thoughts?

